Primary Research

These two videos are the two that I’ve selected to aid as my main reference when making my walk cycle. This is live footage – for me I find using video most helpful to understand where the limits of the body are and where I can exaggerate the overlap and etc. Above is the fast walk – I looked into several different ‘ embarrassed’ walks. When research primary research. What i find happens when someone gets embarrassed their are several reactions to what they can do. They laugh, become very timid, touch their faces to draw attention from themselves, or pretend as though nothing happens. So when recording my live footage I tied to capture all of these gestures. However I decided that the best one was a hurried walk – this way we can tell she is trying to get away, I like how the back is straight whereas the dance pose walk is bend over – this way we can clearly see a difference in walks. The dance-y walk was the most difficult to pick as I made around 15 min footage with around 200 walks! In the end I decided on this one. It has a nice bend and beat.

dance04

After these pose to pose drawings below of my live footage – I then went back and selected the ones i felt a captured the essence of the story and emotion that the character is trying to convey. I traced over the 5 keyframes (contact, pass, up and downs) – these are my favourites. From these drawings, I shall begin making tests and experiments so I can decide on the final walks.

dance01

Above are pose to pose drawings I made from the live footage I recorded. I selected these as i felt they contained a nice walk which i could use for my personality cycle. I love all of these drawings. From the several pages below – i found a hard time even selecting my favourite walk cycle from this page. They all have a very different walk – but are able to show a silly dance style. What is apparent to this kind of walk cycle is that the arms and hip sway, and back rotates alot. The arms can be fluid but also snap – When doing my experiments I’m going to need to consider this.

dance02

On the left side of this image is several pose to pose drawings of my dance walks – and on the right are some embarrassed walk cycles. The orange dots are to show the ones I feel capture the right sense of walk for my scene. The one i especially like is the right side second to the bottom. The hands rise to touch the face (covering face with embarrassment) and then put hair behind the ear. People tend to touch their face and body to draw attention away from them. I really like the realism of the cycle. The one above it is of a person hurrying away by bending themselves forward  – however this is more a exaggeration of what a person would actually do.

dance03

These pose to pose drawings above are of an embarrassed walk (taken from my live footage.) I’ve tried to capture aa variety of embarrassed walks. Some are of a timid shy walk, the arms are held to body. Some are of a hurried walk – the head pointed straight on and the character swings the arms to push herself forward. I’ve also looked at slow to fast walks. Some I’ve made the character seem to laugh as the situation in a carefree manner. I might even combine some of these walks together. The orange dots represent my favourite on this page spread.

dance05

These images have been scanned from my sketchbook. I wanted to show the way I approached making my final animation.  After recording the live footage, I reviewed what dance walks and embarrassed walks seemed to work well – i then from this drew pose to pose drawing (trying to capture the contact poses, up and downs and passing positions.) Just to give me a visual understanding of how I could make them in Maya. Next to the image above is some of my research as well (Eadweard Muybridge – the motion photography).  The poses directly above are the dancey ones. The arms are going to have alot of movement – to express a dance because the feet will be in a walk cycle.

2 6 1

Above are some life drawing I have done to aid my research of the walk cycle. The first and last are studies I made during a visit to the national history museum – I had to capture the people who were walking very fast – therefore I have used flow lines and written observations. When I was there, I actually witnessed someone dropping there phone and getting embarrassed – she picked it up laughed and then hurried away. The drawing in the middle is from our recent life drawing class where we had the model walk around in a circle and we had to capture four different poses at once- just watching how the body moved, the weight on the feet, the hands and the movement throughout the walk has helped my research.

Leave a Reply

