Animation Principles (applying in maya)

Above are the couple of animation tests that I did before committing to the final animation. These are very early and unfinished tests that I did – just to get an idea of the staging and the distance the balls would fall from (the cube) and how fast/high they would bounce. (these tests are very fasts actually.) Although they are very basic they helped me just plan visually how the finished animation would look. I also did explore different ways the balls may fall from the cube. Originally I wanted the heavier ball to move forward, look over the edge, stop, the faster ball to speed infront and jump – bouncing easily over the pyramid. The heavier ball then thinking it could do the same and bounce over the pyramid pulls itself back and fall – however being heavier it simply falls nowhere the pyramid is. The biggest struggles I faced when animating my two balls in one scene was trying to move them in a way that would not be confusing to the audience – as they would be bouncing at the same time. The audience would have to look at two different spots almost at the same time – unless I slowed down certain aspects of the animation.

Above is a collection of animations that I made during the pre-planning and post planning stage. I have made lots like these as they really just let me play about with all the techniques I learnt during class. It also let me just experiment (trail and error) to see what worked and I could potentially use within my final. Doing these tests also improved my confidence with working with the new software Maya. Most of my tests played around with the stretch and squash and how it could change the bouncing ball from a hard material to a soft and squashy one. In my final animation I am not going to use the starch and squash feature because I have decided to use a golf ball and a heavier bath bomb as my reference material – therefore I have included the tests to show how the screech and squash can be applied to the bouncing ball to change the characteristic of it completely. I really like the second animation on the video, it shows a ball that has dropped and squashed very wide (like a water balloon) and then reformed back into its original shape – it is just very fluid and shows a ball bouncing in a very different way.

Leave a Reply

